Back in November, my study abroad program (IES) brought us to Kyoto. It was our final and biggest trip for the semester, so of course I decided to wear kimono My friend Brittany decided to finally get her first kimono set, so I helped her get all the stuff she needed before she left. She chose a beautiful komon with red and orange maple leaves, which was perfect for the season. Her obi was a green hanhaba obi with owls. I chose my blue wool set

Our first stop on the trip was Kiyomizudera. The weekend we went was apparently the peak of the momijigari (maple-viewing) season, which is evident from this picture.

SAM_3441

SAM_3415

SAM_3414

SAM_3417

I also helped my friend John get a full kimono set before we went on the trip. He’s really tall, so opted for hakama, which worked really well. We also got randomly interviewed in front of Kiyomizudera by a Japanese reporter asking us why we were in Kyoto and why we were in kimono.

image

SAM_3407

SAM_3432

SAM_3435

Later, we made our own sensu!

SAM_3450

That night, we did the coolest thing I did the entire year: had an ozashiki with geisha! Our geiko was my favorite geiko Tsuneyuu’s younger sister Tsunemomo, our maiko was Hisamomo, and our jimae geiko was Tsunekazu. I asked if we could talk to them one-on-one after we played Konpira Fune Fune. Tsunemomo was very excited to learn that her older sister was my favorite geisha, and that I had gone to see her in the Gion Odori and she said she’d tell Tsuneyuu. =D They also both did a dance for us.

SAM_3463

SAM_3464

SAM_3468

SAM_3469

SAM_3472

SAM_3476

SAM_3477

The next day, we went to Nijojou and walked around the garden. Only John I wore kimono the second day.

Daimonji
SAM_3506

The nightengale floors of Nijojou
SAM_3493

Nijojou
SAM_3489

SAM_3500

SAM_3496

IMG_1930

After that, we went to Kinkaku-ji.

IMG_1937

IMG_1941

IMG_1945

IMG_1947

The last day, we went to Arashiyama which is a beautiful little place outside of Kyoto, about 20 minutes by train. We got to ride the rickshaws for quite some time and went through the bamboo grove.

IMG_1980

IMG_1982

IMG_1983

IMG_1983

IMG_1970

 

There are a bunch of other cool pictures in the full set here.