Since my first post was about how my obsession with Japanese culture started, I’ll talk about my first kimono in this one.

I really don’t have a story about how my kimono addiction got started, because it was a complete whim that I wanted to buy one. So I signed up for eBay and looked around. Luckily for me, I came across the seller eisaku-jp, and when I saw their real kimono, it became really easy to pick out the fakes. Unluckily for me, their store can be a little pricey. I ended up buying two things from them: my first kimono and a haori.

My first kimono is a kuro-tomesode with amazing dyed scenery at the bottom. I was in love. It is still one of my most amazing kimono, and even people who do not know about kimono are immediately impressed by the artistry. I would later find out that kuro-tomesode are meant for married women. It’s funny, many people’s first kimono is a kuro-tomesode, but they are one of the most non-versitile kimono, as well as being rather hard to dress in. At the time, I really had no intention of buying women’s kimono, but since I had spent so much on it (about $120USD), I figured I should just continue; besides, men’s kimono are usually so boring. I still avoid anything with flowers and I don’t think most of my kimono scream women’s clothing. Anyways, here is a picture:

Kurotomesode with Scenery

(Psst… Clicking will take you to the original on Flickr)

The haori that I got has almost unnoticable embroidered bamboo and bears one crest matching the ones on my kuro-tomesode. I wear it out frequently, as it makes a nice little, formal-looking jacket. Here is the picture:

Kuro-montsuki Haori with Bamboo

Since I now had a very formal kimono, I thought I should get an informal one then (are you seeing where this is heading?). So I went back to eisaku-jp and got a polyester komon with a blue, yellow, and burgandy stipple pattern. I’ve still never seen anything like it, and I love it to pieces.

Stippled Komon

Close-up:

So that’s it for my first run in with kimono!